General FAQ

The following section aims to provide basic information on the introduction of VAT in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. This information and other parts of the VAT website is updated regularly.

Value Added Tax (or VAT) is an indirect tax which is imposed on all goods and services that are bought and sold by businesses, with a few exceptions. VAT is used in more than 160 countries around the world as a reliable source of revenue for state budgets.

VAT was introduced in Saudi Arabia on January 1st 2018.

The unified VAT agreement for the GCC treaty for a unified framework agreement to introduce VAT came into application. In line with the framework, Saudi Arabia introduced Value Added Tax (VAT) on 1st January 2018.

The introduction of VAT is a key part of the Kingdom's broader plan to improve fiscal sustainability and diversify government revenues. VAT will provide a stable and sustainable source of funds to support the country’s ambitious programme of transformation, including investment in economic development, diversification and public services. This will have real benefits which will positively affect the public and businesses of all sizes across Saudi Arabia.

The VAT Law, that was published in H1438/11/4, is available in full here

All goods and services are subject to VAT. However, some goods and services are exempt. For further information on exempted items please read the list of goods and services subject to VAT on the following link

The VAT rate is set at a standard rate of 5%. Some goods and services are zero rated. For further information on zero rated items please read the list of goods and services subject to VAT on the following link
 
 

They are separate regimes. IFRS is an accounting standard. VAT is a tax scheme.

Overall, businesses will not pay higher pre-tax prices for input goods and services. Costs should not change because businesses are able to deduct their input VAT from their output VAT. The end-consumer, however, will not collect or be able to deduct any VAT. Therefore, end-consumers will initially experience a 5% price increase, compared to before the tax was implemented.

The General Authority of Zakat & Tax (GAZT) is the authority in charge for the implementation and administration of VAT in KSA. GAZT is responsible for the registration and deregistration of taxable persons for VAT, to administer VAT return filing and VAT refunds as well as to undertake audits and  VAT inspection visits. GAZT also has the power to levy penalties for non-compliance with stipulated VAT regulations.  

Any unregistered company that falls above the mandatory registration threshold of SAR 375,000 will be subject to fines and potential prosecution. GAZT is conducting extensive audit and compliance activities to minimize non-compliance. Additionally, GAZT in coordination with MCI are conducting nationwide campaigns to penalize and register non-compliant businesses.

Businesses that register for VAT will not suffer from a competitive disadvantage against their industry competitors who haven’t registered for VAT. As a VAT registered business, you are paying input VAT to your supplier and you are required to charge 5% VAT on taxable supplies made to your customers. Unregistered businesses will also pay input VAT on their supplies; however, they will not be able to claim back VAT or charge it to the customers, which would increase their cost base and reduce their margin. In the long run, they will be incentivized to register in order to ensure recovery of input VAT through charging of output VAT. 

Any cost advantage for clients to purchase supplies from unregistered businesses will disappear in the long run as VAT registration will increase due to compliance activities and market forces that will trickle registration across the value chain.

You are encouraged to continually engage with VAT resources in order to stay up to date with the latest details on VAT introduction. All information will be available on this website. If additional questions arise, these may be addressed with a VAT customer service agent on the VAT social media channels, or on the dedicated VAT hotline.

For further detailed information please refer to the detailed technical FAQ page on the following link

Please note that in the event of any conflict between the content of this page and the provisions of VAT Law and VAT draft Implementing Regulations, the Laws and Regulations shall prevail.

الأسئلة الشائعة العامة

تهدف الأسئلة الأكثر شيوعاً إلی تزويد المنشآت بالمعلومات الأساسیة حول عملية تطبيق ضریبة القیمة المضافة في المملکة العربیة السعودية. وسيتم تحديث هذه المعلومات وأقسام أخرى من الموقع الالكتروني الخاص بضريبة القيمة المضافة بشكل دوري.

ضريبة القيمة المضافة هي ضريبة غير مباشرة تفرض على جميع السلع والخدمات التي يتم شراؤها وبيعها من قبل المنشآت، مع بعض الاستثناءات. وتُطبق ضريبة القيمة المضافة في أكثر من ١٦٠ دولة حول العالم، حيث تُعد مصدر دخل أساسي يساهم في تعزيز ميزانيات الدول.

تم تطبيق ضريبة القيمة المضافة في المملكة العربية السعودية ابتداءً من 1 يناير 2018.

دخلت الاتفاقية الموحدة لضريبة القيمة المضافة التي وافقت عليها دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي حيز التنفيذ. وتماشياً مع هذا الاتفاقية، بدأت المملكة العربية السعودية بتطبيق ضريبة القيمة المضافة في 1 يناير 2018.
ويعدّ تطبيق ضريبة القيمة المضافة جزءاً رئيسياً من خطة المملكة الشاملة لتعزيز الاستدامة المالية وتنويع الإيرادات الحكومية. وستوفر ضريبة القيمة المضافة مصدراً ثابتاً ومستداماً للأموال التي ستدعم برنامج التحول الوطني الطموح، بما في ذلك الاستثمار في التنمية الاقتصادية والخدمات العامة، ما سيعود بفوائد ملموسة الذي سيؤثر بشكلٍ إيجابي على المنشآت في جميع أنحاء المملكة على اختلاف حجمها.
 

يمكن الاطلاع على بنود نظام  ضريبة القيمة المضافة الذي اعتمد رسميا، ونشرت نسخته النهائية بتاريخ 4 /11/1438هـ. من خلال هذا الرابط ​​​​​​​

بشكل عام تخضع جميع السلع والخدمات لضريبة القيمة المضافة، لكن بعض السلع والخدمات معفية منها. للمزيد من المعلومات حول التوريدات المعفاة الرجاء العودة إلى لائحة السلع والخدمات الخاضعة لضريبة القيمة المضافة من خلال هذا الرابط
 

النسبة الموحدة لضريبة القيمة المضافة 5%، وبعض السلع والخدمات خاضعة للضريبة بنسبة صفر بالمائة. للمزيد من المعلومات حول التوريدات الخاضعة للضريبة بنسبة الصفر بالمائة الرجاء العودة إلى لائحة السلع والخدمات الخاضعة لضريبة القيمة المضافة من خلال هذا الرابط
 
 

المعيار الدولي للتقارير المالية وضريبة القيمة المضافة نظامان منفصلان، فالأول عبارة عن معيار محاسبي، أما الثاني فهو نظام ضريبي.

بشكل عام، لن تدفع المنشآت الخاضعة أسعاراً أعلى مما كانت تدفع قبل تطبيق الضريبة مقابل السلع والخدمات المشتراة من المنشآت الأخرى الخاضعة، ولا ينبغي أن تتغير التكاليف لأن المنشآت الخاضعة قادرة على خصم ضريبة المدخلات من ضريبة المخرجات الخاصة بها، في حين أن المستهلك النهائي لن يكون قادراً على تحصيل أو خصم ضريبة القيمة المضافة.

الهيئة هي الجهة المسؤولة عن تطبيق وإدارة الضريبة في المملكة وهي مسؤولة عن عمليات تسجيل وإلغاء تسجيل المكلفين في الضريبة، بالإضافة إلى إدارة عملية تقديم الإقرارات الضريبية ورد الضريبة إلى جانب إجراء عمليات التدقيق وزيارات التفتيش المتعلقة بالضريبة. كما تتمتع الهيئة بالسلطة الكاملة في فرض الغرامات على غير الممتثلين لنظام ضريبة القيمة المضافة ولائحته التنفيذية.

لا يؤدي تسجيل المنشآت في الضريبة إلى أي تأثير على ميزتها التنافسية مقابل الشركات المشابهة في نفس القطاع التي لم تسجل في الضريبة. عند التسجيل في الضريبة، تقوم منشأتك بسداد ضريبة المدخلات إلى مورّدك نظرًا لأنها منشأة مسجلة في الضريبة، وينبغي لها احتساب ضريبة بقيمة 5% على التوريدات الخاضعة للضريبة التي تقدمها لعملاء منشأتك، وينبغي أيضًا للمنشآت غير المسجلة في الضريبة سداد ضريبة المدخلات على التوريدات التي يستلموها ولكنهم لا يستطيعون استرداداها أو احتساب هذه الضريبة على العملاء، مما سيزيد قاعدة نفقاتهم ويخفض هامش الربح الذي يحققونه، مما سيدفعهم للتسجيل في الضريبة بعد فترة لضمان استردادهم للضريبة عبر احتساب ضريبة المخرجات.
وبالتالي، سوف تختفي الميزة التنافسية السعرية للمنشآت غير المسجلة بمرور الوقت مع زيادة اتجاه الشركات للتسجيل في الضريبة بسبب أنشطة دفع الالتزام بالضريبة وقِوى السوق التي سوف تحفّز التسجيل تدريجيًا في مختلف أجزاء سلسلة الإمداد.

أي منشأة تجاوزت الحد الإلزامي للتسجيل، والذي يبلغ 375،000 ريال، ولم تسجل في الضريبة ستكون عرضةً للغرامات فضلًا عن احتمالية مثولها أمام المحكمة.
وفي هذا الصدد، تجري الهيئة عمليات مراجعة كثيفة وأنشطة خاصة بالالتزام الضريبي بهدف تقليل عدد المنشآت غير الملتزمة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تجري الهيئة، بالتنسيق مع وزارة التجارة والاستثمار، حملات على نطاق المملكة لتغريم المنشآت غير المسجلة وتسجيلها في الضريبة.

يمكنكم التواصل مع قنوات التعريف بضريبة القيمة المضافة للبقاء على اطلاع بأحدث المعلومات والتفاصيل حول تطبيق الضريبة. وسوف تتوفر جميع المعلومات على هذا الموقع. وفي حالة وجود أية استفسارات إضافية، يمكن التواصل مع موظف  خدمة العملاء المعني بضريبة القيمة المضافة عبر قنوات التواصل الاجتماعي أو عبر الخط المباشر  المخصص لهذا الغرض.
لمزيد من المعلومات التفصيلية، يرجى الرجوع إلى صفحة التعليمات الفنية التفصيلية على الرابط التالي
وفي حال وجود أي تعارض بين محتوى هذه الصفحة وأحكام نظام ضريبة القيمة المضافة ولائحتها  التنفيذية، فإن تلك القوانين والأنظمة هي التي تُعتمد